UNLEASH THE ARCHERS reveal artwork and tracklist of upcoming album Abyss along with title track teaser video.

Unleash The Archers er snart klare med oppfølgeren til konseptalbumet Apex, bandets tredje album som ble sluppet i 2017.

The celestial, conceptual follow-up to 2017’s Apex drops August 21, 2020. Expect the first single in a couple of weeks!

Unleash The Archers – Abyss (Napalm Records, artwork by: Nightjar art of Adam Burke)


1. Waking Dream
2. Abyss
3. Through Stars
4. Legacy
5. Return To Me
6. Soulbound
7. Faster Than Light
8. The Wind That Shapes The Land
9. Carry The Flame (feat. guitarist Andrew Kingsley on guest vocals)
10. Afterlife (feat. orchestration by Francesco Ferrini – Fleshgod Apocalypse)

Unleash The Archers har igjen tatt turen til Danmark og Jacob Hansen i Hansen Studio for miksing og mastring, mens gitarist Andrew Kingsley har stått for produksjonen. Bandet har denne gangen fått bidrag fra Francesco Ferrini (Fleshgod Apocalypse) som har skrevet orkestreringen på låten «Afterlife«.

Read also: UNLEASH THE ARCHERS are in the studio to record their new album

Om albumets konsept sier bandets vokalist Brittney Slayes dette:

Our protagonist, The Immortal, is once again awakened at the beginning of our story, but this time he is in an unknown place: a ship out in deep space. He wanders alone for a time, reflecting on his misdeeds, searching for his new master. Finally, he finds him, and learns that it is the Grandson of The Matriarch, our antagonist. The Immortal had taken The Grandson’s father away some sixty years before, to be sacrificed by The Matriarch in a ritual to achieve immortality (the events from Apex) and now the Grandson seeks revenge against The Matriarch with the aid of her own weapon, The Immortal.

This album is a classic take on good versus evil, light versus dark, The Grandson versus The Matriarch, but it also uses the ‘person versus self’ literary device in that The Immortal is battling with the good and evil within himself, and must decide in the end if he is simply a tool for others to use, or a man with free will and the ability to choose his own path; a struggle I think every human can relate to.

Abyss blir også tilgjengelig i eksklusiv earbook-utgave, som inneholder hele albumet i instrumentalversjon samt to bonuslåter; synthwave- og gothic folk-pop-versjoner av «Abyss» og «Soulbound«.

Om årsaken til at bandet leker med ulike sjangere sier Slayes dette:

I hope you enjoy our alternate interpretations of “Abyss” and “Soulbound”, because they honestly show a side of us as musicians that we probably wouldn’t be able to showcase otherwise. We all listen to a lot of different genres of music, but these two bonus tracks give huge insight into the music we were listening to as we recorded Abyss… not just metal, but synthwave, pop, and even a bit of country!

Photo: Shimon Photo



    Legg igjen en kommentar

    Din e-postadresse vil ikke bli publisert.